Earth Hour

This is what everyone keeps on talking about nowadays. Thanks to my ever reliable friend, Wikipedia, for the info about Earth Hour.

Earth Hour is an annual international event created by the WWF (World Wide Fund for Nature/World Wildlife Fund), held on the last Saturday of March, that asks households and businesses to turn off their non-essential lights and electrical appliances for one hour to raise awareness towards the need to take action on climate change. It was pioneered by WWF Australia and the Sydney Morning Herald in 2007, and achieved worldwide participation in 2008.

Earth Hour will next take place on Saturday, March 28, 2009 at 8:30 pm, local time.

earth-hour-thumb-300x291

 

Frankly, I never took this seriously at first but then after realizing that this is done for a good cause, I told myself to do something to promote about it.

Where do I start? Aha! Of course, at home. This would be the biggest challenge I would have. It would take a lot of my convincing powers for my family to cooperate. They don’t like the idea turning the lights off for an hour just to be part of it. Actually, I think that they wouldn’t really like to participate to it all. So, what I’m planning to do is promise them one thing, F-O-O-D, they couldn’t resist in exchange for their participation. Hope I win this battle! Hahaha… 🙂

C’mon guys! Do your part. Participate and be proud of the accomplishment.

