This is sad news. David Cook’s older brother, Adam, died after a long battle with brain cancer.

“I actually lost my brother yesterday to a brain tumor,” he told the crowd, choking up over his words, “and I couldn’t imagine being anywhere else right now.”

David made the announcement of his brother’s death at the 12th Annual Race for Hope 5K run/walk in Washington, D.C., which benefited finding a cure for brain cancer. He served as the event’s honorary chairman.

David Cook’s brother, Adam, 37, had battled the disease throughout his American Idol competition. He had the chance to see his younger sibling perform in April 2008 on the famous stage. He watched David perform Mariah Carey’s Always Be My Baby. At the time, Adam was undergoing chemotherapy treatment.

To David Cook’s family, I pray that you find strength and love in times like this. It’s one of those moments in our lives that we have to be very strong and face this challenge. I wish you good luck and for strength to move on. I will be praying for Adam.

For more information about the charity, log on to www.curebraintumors.org

 

